Yuja Wang, piano

Sunday, October 9, 2011 4:00PM
Hill Auditorium

Yuja Wang, piano
Contact us for availability -- (734) 764-2538 | umstix@umich.edu

Chinese pianist Yuja Wang combines the spontaneity and fearless imagination of youth with the discipline and precision of a mature artist. Regularly lauded for her controlled and prodigious technique, her command of the piano has been described as "astounding" and "superhuman." Born in Beijing in 1987, Yuja began studying piano at age six, with her earliest public performances taking place in China, Australia, and Germany. She went on to study at the Central Conservatory of Music in Beijing under Ling Yuan and Zhou Guangren. She has been praised for her authority over the most complex technical demands of the repertoire, the depth of her musical insight, her fresh interpretations, and her graceful, charismatic stage presence.

Rachmaninoff: Études-tableaux Op. 39 No. 6
Rachmaninoff: Études-tableaux Op. 39 No. 4
Rachmaninoff: Études-tableaux Op. 39 No.5
Rachmaninoff: Elegie, Op. 3 No. 1
Beethoven: Sonata No. 13 in E-flat Major, "Quasi una fantasia", Op. 27, No. 1
Debussy: “La soirée dans Grenade” from Estampes
Ravel: “Alborada del gracioso” from Miroirs
Albéniz: “Triana” from Iberia (Book II)
Scriabin: Prelude in B Major, Op. 11, No. 11
Scriabin: Prelude in b minor, Op. 13, No. 6
Scriabin: Prelude in g-sharp minor, Op. 11, No. 12
Scriabin: Etude in g-sharp minor, Op. 8, No. 9
Scriabin: Poéme in F-sharp Major, Op. 32, No. 1
Scriabin: Sonata No. 5, Op. 53, "Poem of Ecstasy"